Georgia Legislature

18 Named to House Rural Development Council

Speaker David Ralston recently announced that he has appointed eighteen state representatives to serve on the House Rural Development Council for the 2021-2022 legislative session. This council, which was created in 2017, works with rural communities to find ways to encourage economic growth and job creation.

The members of the House Rural Development Council are:

  • Rep. Rick Jasperse (R-Jasper) – Co-Chairman
  • Rep. Sam Watson (R-Moultrie) – Co-Chairman
  • Rep. John Corbett (R-Lake Park) – Vice Chairman
  • Rep. Patty Bentley (D-Butler)
  • Rep. Chris Erwin (R-Homer)
  • Rep. Gerald Greene (R-Cuthbert)
  • Rep. Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin)
  • Rep. Mack Jackson (D-Sandersville)
  • Rep. Dominic LaRiccia (R-Douglas)
  • Rep. Eddie Lumsden (R-Armuchee)
  • Rep. Steven Meeks (R-Screven)
  • Rep. Clay Pirkle (R-Ashburn)
  • Rep. Jason Ridley (R-Chatsworth)
  • Rep. Darlene Taylor (R-Thomasville)
  • Rep. Bill Werkheiser (R-Glennville)
  • Rep. Al Williams (D-Midway)
  • Rep. Noel Williams (R-Cordele)
  • Rep. Rick Williams (R-Milledgeville)

In addition, Speaker Ralston has named the following committee chairmen and vice chairmen to serve as ex-officio members of the House Rural Development Council based on their subject-area expertise:

  • Rep. Shaw Blackmon – Chairman of Governmental Affairs
  • Rep. Kasey Carpenter – Vice Chairman of Transportation
  • Rep. Sharon Cooper – Chairman of Health & Human Services
  • Rep. Robert Dickey – Chairman of Agriculture & Consumer Affairs
  • Rep. Terry England – Chairman of Appropriations; Council Co-Chairman Emeritus
  • Rep. Penny Houston – Chairman of Economic Development (Appropriations)
  • Rep. Chuck Martin – Chairman of Higher Education
  • Rep. Butch Parrish – Chairman of Healthcare (Appropriations)
  • Rep. Don Parsons – Chairman of Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications
  • Rep. Alan Powell – Chairman of Regulated Industries
  • Rep. Trey Rhodes – Chairman of Game, Fish & Parks
  • Rep. Lynn Smith – Chairman of Natural Resources & Environment
  • Rep. Ron Stephens – Chairman of Economic Development
  • Rep. Bill Yearta – Vice Chairman of Banks & Banking

The House Rural Development Council was renewed for the 2021-2022 legislative session by House Resolution 185 sponsored by Speaker David Ralston.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sign Up For Our  Newsletter
Get the latest headlines and stories - and even exclusive content!- sent right to your inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.